WorldCat [OCLC] versus Google

WorldCat [OCLC]

Today (first day back after three weeks away from work / computers / cities) slogging through my email I see an announcement from OCLC “Announcing the release of the new WorldCat.org Web site.”

My vacation reading included a book by Ann Marie Macdonald, so to try out the search I look for that book (to see what else she’s written), but I can’t remember the title, but I know that it has crows in it.

Search for ann marie macdonald crows – nothing!

Use Google, find it right away.

The title is The Way the Crow Flies.

Crow – not Crows!

WorldCat needs smarter users 😉 or automatic word stemming, or a did you mean “crow”? But, on the whole this looks really useful!

About Karen Keiller

I am the University Librarian at Lakehead University.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

