Bread Machine Pizza Dough

Well loved recipe annotations

My friend Sherri just got a bread machine. I used bread machines daily for about a decade (plural – I went through about 3 machines, maybe they build them better now).  Since my son has been diagnosed with celiac disease I’ve retired my newest machine. But talking to Sherri reminded me that over the years I invented the best bread machine pizza dough (really). So I pulled out my old copy of the black & decker recipe book, with my annotations. Here’s the recipe:

1 bottle of beer

2 tbsp olive oil

1 tbsp honey

3 1/2 cups flour (combination w/w and white, measurement is for Canadian flour, I think U.S. flour you’ll need to add a wee bit more)

1/2 cup cornmeal

1 1/2 tsp yeast

Follow your bread machine directions for dough cycle, and make pizza! Another tip from the old Italian my ex-husband used to deliver pizza’s for as a teenager — combine Edam and Mozzarella cheese, and when you put the sauce on the dough, put as thinly as possible. Then when you have all the other toppings and cheese on the pizza, put generous dollops of sauce on top. That way you get the saucy flavour, without soggy crust and the annoying “toppings sliding off the crust” thing happening!

Of course now I’m becoming an expert on gluten free pizza crust (this is my favourite, roll it out as thin as possible).

About Karen Keiller

I am the University Librarian at Lakehead University.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

