Open Educational Resources – CMS’s versus Personal Learning Environments

I’ve just started teaching a completely online course in the Certificate of Emerging Technologies for Learning. My students will be completing weekly blog postings, and to reciprocate, I thought I would try to blog about the teaching end. Although I’ve used course management systems in my “library” work (WebCT, Sakai, and now Angel) this is the first time I’ve used a CMS to teach an entire course. OK, I’ll be blunt, it is like writing a story on a typewriter when you are sitting beside a perfectly good iMac. Once the nostalgia passes, I’m ready to put the typewriter in a garage sale! It seems to me that we have not taken full advantage of the technology when I start from a MSWord template of the course outline done in a version of Word that fights with mine, then create a PDF of that, upload it, and then painstakingly transpose pieces of the course outline into parts of Angel. Shouldn’t the course outline be generated from my course content?

The irony of using a closed system to teach “open educational resources”, I’m sure, is not lost on my students! So the challenge will be to setup our base camp in Angel, but leave the camp daily to explore and learn!

To see what we’re up to, visit our Diigo Group

About Karen Keiller

I am the University Librarian at Lakehead University.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Open Educational Resources – CMS’s versus Personal Learning Environments

  1. wannabpirate says:

    I fully agree with your comments about the irony of this. I also found Angel clumsy to work with, and horribly linear. I’m trying to avoid the same thing with an online course I’m developing for U of M, but the LMS format seems quite limiting. I checked out the ELGG once to see if that was a bit more open-ended-but-still-organized, and it’s almost as if social bookmarking is the best answer so far. It just doesn’t allow for sequencing for students, so there’s no choice but to throw people into the deep end of the pool.

Leave a Reply

