Update from an Apple event

I recently attended an Apple event in Halifax. So I confess I was disappointed that they didn’t hand out new iPads, but the information was good!

The most important thing I learned was not really what the event was about, but it was a revelation to me (duh!) that an Apple TV connected with a TV or a projector (think projectors in classrooms) can be used as wireless way to project from an iPad using Airplay. Guess who ordered an Apple TV to try out in the Hans W. Klohn Commons?

We’re thinking of Apple TV’s in our BMO Financial Group classroom and group study rooms, and selective smartclassrooms. Good match for our iPads on campus.

But back to the event, the main purpose was to show off iBook Author. I’d taken it for a test spin before I left home, and yes, it is intuitive and easy to create content, likewise to publish and make available. I wonder if the folks at Apple realize that the hardest part about creating content is actually the creating content part. Maybe curriculum developers for school divisions working with subject experts will use these tools? Some authors? I’m not sure.

The app iTunes U was also news to me. iTunes U in the iTunes store has been around for a very long time, but a separate app for iTunes U is new. Install the app and browse the catalog. Part iBooks, part open educational resources (OER), part podcasts, part interesting to see where it all ends up!

The details are fuzzy, but we also were told that teachers can now push out content to all the iPads in a class.

See http://www.apple.com/ca/education/ for all the details.

I’ve invited the Apple crew to University of New Brunswick Saint John for a replay of the event. Stay tuned.

About Karen Keiller

I am the University Librarian at Lakehead University.
This entry was posted in Leading with Technology, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

