Gluten Free Waffles

IMG_2609

Before my son was diagnosed with celiac disease a few years ago waffles were a staple in our house. You can tell by the page from my Fannie Farmer cookbook. I threw out the “poisoned” waffle iron and didn’t make waffles for a few years. A few months ago I broke down and bought a new waffle iron and have been experimenting since. I make a big batch, freeze with parchment paper between layers, and presto, quick breakfast for The Boy (smothered with Nutella, whatever, I’m happy if he eats before going to school — he’s 16).

Today’s turned out particular well, and here’s what I remember.

4 cups of flour. I used 2 cups of Sorghum flour, and a bit of some left-over bread mix flour and the rest was Bob’s Mill Pizza mix floor, which is my go-to all purpose flour mix. Sorry that’s the way I cook.

7 eggs separated

4 cups of buttermilk

1/2 cup of melted butter

2 TBSP baking power (Magic brand in Canada is Gluten Free)

1 TBSP baking soda

1/4 cup of sugar

Normally I would add a bit of xantham gum, but I’m pretty sure I forgot. The flour mixes I used would have had some.

Followed the instructions from Fannie Farmer. It is worth it to beat the egg whites, which is the way my Mennonite mother made them to. The other thing my mom did, which I don’t, basically because it is one more step, is cut in butter like you would for a pie crust.

I find with Gluten Free baking you need more eggs and liquid, if you’re thinking Wow! that seems like too much liquid.

The other tip, let the batter sit for 30 minutes or so before making.

About Karen Keiller

I am the University Librarian at Lakehead University.
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

